RSS

Flo: The Lyin’ Fly – Max Lucado’s Hermie and Friends

19 Apr

Max Lucado

Flo: The Lyin’ Fly Max Lucado’s Hermie and Friends

I was first introduced to Hermie and Friends in DVD form, so when I saw the books, I had to get them for my kids, I knew the stories were wholesome, and my kids would love them 🙂

Flo is a pink little fly who has a tendency to . . .  well, stretch the truth and, out and out lie.   The first page has her lying about needing help, and then right after that she lies about knowing ‘The Water Beetles” (Played by Third Day in the DVD)  When she is caught, her friends all leave annoyed that they don’t get to meet the Water Beetles.

When Flo turns around guess who is standing there. . . well, the Water Beetles of course!!  But when she gets her friends and tries to tell them, that they are really there, they don’t believe her, but someone else does, and Puffy the dragon follows her and kidnaps the Water Beetles.   When Flo tries to get help, again no one believes her, so she must rescue them herself. 

During the rescue the Water Beetles make it out safe, but Flo looks lost forever.   The Water Beetles tell the whole story to the crowd, just before Flo comes back. and her friends realize that she was telling the truth.  Flo apologizes and promises to not lie again. 

I have to admit, that the stories are not as great as the movies.  The stories are very short, and leave out lots of details that are in the movie, but I don’t really know that my kids noticed all of the differences.   I would recommend this as a good book, a fun short story for kids to read, or even have read to them.  I would say this is a First or Second Grade reading level. 

*Note, Max Lucado, Thomas Nelson, Third Day and Amazon.com have not paid me to write this review, and I only write it because. . . well, I wanted to 🙂 

If you want to watch the video preview of the dvd, here it is 🙂 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1lDPrNx3Ig

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
