RSS

Teach Your Child To Read

19 Mar

When I first started looking for a way to teach my oldest how to read, lots of people recommended this book, and lots of people told me it didn’t work.  Even still, if I talk about the book some people will ask if it actually worked for us.

The answer, for us (so far) YES!!

Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons is a HUGE BOOK!!  I ordered mine on Amazon.com (I’m sure you could get it at any bookstore, or they could order it for you) and when I opened the box I was a bit overwhelmed by it’s size.  The book feels like a ream of paper, you know 8 1/2 by 11 with 398 pages!!  It was a bit intimidating for me, but I wanted to try it anyway.   The first 40 pages are parent pages, teaching mom (or dad) how to correctly use the book.

I’m now teaching  my second child (age 5) to read, and he is on lesson 43  and this is what he read today:

he said, “can I eat cake?”     she said, “go sit with the cow.”       he said, “no, I will not go.”          she said, “go sit with the cat.” he said, “the cat has cake.”          she said, “go sit with the cat and eat cake.”       so he ate cake. he said, “this is fun.”

The vowels have lines over them if they are long, and sounds that are silent are written smaller.  I was worried (with my first) that this might be a problem for reading later, but he has a 3rd grade reading level (6 1/2 years old) and doesn’t have a problem with not having the characters.  The book transitions them out in the end.

Over all, I know that it doesn’t work with every child, but I really hope it works with all of my kids, because so far they have all done a great job at learning to read (in 100 lessons!!) and I would recommend it to any mom (or dad) who is looking for a way to teach reading.  The price is also very reasonable.

*Note: Amazon.com and the authors of Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons have not paid me to write this review, and have no clue that it is here.  This review is my own opinion.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 19, 2010 in Books, Children's, NonFiction

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
